Vishal Dadlani and Divine to cover Metallica’s ‘The Unforgiven’ for anniversary album


The heavy metal giant has announced a tribute album to celebrate 30 years of Metallica’s Black Album and it features more than 50 artists of all kinds of styles, from country to electronic, who have covered songs from ‘The Black Album’.

Among the list of international stars such as Miley Cyrus, Elton John, Phoebe Bridgers and many more are also top Indian artists, Vishal Dadlani, Divine, Shorpolice, who will do a rendition of “The Unforgiven”.

The Metallica Blacklist Album has a digital release date of September 10 and a physical release date of October 1 (including a 4xCD edition and a limited edition 7xLP vinyl pressing) – pre-order is available here. All profits from the sale and streaming of this album will be donated to the charity of choice for each contributing artist along with Metallica’s foundation, All Within My Hands. Vishal Dadlani, Divine, Shor Police’s rendition of “The Unforgiven” will be supporting Mumbai’s ‘Dharavi Dream Project’.

One record has been previewed yesterday with the release of Miley Cyrus‘ cover of ‘Nothing Else Matters, which features Elton John, Red Hot Chili Peppers‘ Chad Smith, WATT, Yo-Yo Ma and Metallica’s Robert Trujillo – you can hear it below.

The long-running band’s self-titled fifth studio album was released in August 1991 and featured such songs as ‘Enter Sandman’, ‘The Unforgiven’ and ‘Nothing Else Matters. It has also been stated the ‘The Black Album’ is also set to be remastered edition for the “definitive” new reissue, which will be released on September 10 on the band’s Blackened Recordings. The formats that will house the reissue is a 180-gram double vinyl LP, a standard CD and 3xCD expanded edition, digital download, streaming and a limited-edition deluxe box set. Pre-order is available now.

You can check out all the artists who have contributed to ‘The Metallica Blacklist’ below: 


1. Enter Sandman – Alessia Cara & The Warning

2. Enter Sandman – Mac DeMarco

3. Enter Sandman – Ghost

4. Enter Sandman – Juanes

5. Enter Sandman – Rina Sawayama

6. Enter Sandman – Weezer

7. Sad But True (Live ) – Sam Fender

8. Sad But True – Jason Isbell

9. Sad But True – Mexican Institute of Sound feat. La Perla & Gera MX

10. Sad But True – Royal Blood

11. Sad But True – St. Vincent

12. Sad But True – White Reaper

13. Sad But True – YB


1. Holier Than Thou – Biffy Clyro

2. Holier Than Thou – The Chats

3. Holier Than Thou – OFF!

4. Holier Than Thou – PUP

5. Holier Than Thou – Corey Taylor

6. The Unforgiven – Cage The Elephant

7. The Unforgiven – Vishal Dadlani, DIVINE, Shor Police

8. The Unforgiven – Diet Cig

9. The Unforgiven – Flatbush Zombies feat. DJ Scratch

10. The Unforgiven – Ha * Ash

11. The Unforgiven – José Madero

12. The Unforgiven – Moses Sumney


1. Wherever I May Roam – J Balvin

2. Wherever I May Roam – Chase & Status feat. BackRoad Gee

3. Wherever I May Roam – The Neptunes

4. Wherever I May Roam – Jon Pardi

5. Don’t Tread on Else Matters – Sebastian

6. Don’t Tread on Me – Portugal. The Man

7. Don’t Tread on Me – Volbeat

8. Through the Never – The HU

9. Through the Never – Tomi Owó

10. Nothing Else Matters – Phoebe Bridgers

11. Nothing Else Matters – Miley Cyrus feat WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith

12. Nothing Else Matters – Dave Gahan

13. Nothing Else Matters – Mickey Guyton

14. Nothing Else Matters – Dermot Kennedy

15. Nothing Else Matters – Mon Laferte


1. Nothing Else Matters – Igor Levit

2. Nothing Else Matters – My Morning Jacket

3. Nothing Else Matters – PG Roxette

4. Nothing Else Matters – Darius Rucker

5. Nothing Else Matters – Chris Stapleton

6. Nothing Else Matters – TRESOR

7. Of Wolf and Man – Goodnight, Texas

8. The God That Failed – IDLES

9. The God That Failed – Imelda May

10. My Friend of Misery – Cherry Glazerr

11. My Friend of Misery – Izïa

12. My Friend of Misery – Kamasi Washington

13. The Struggle Within – Rodrigo y Gabriela

Go below to discover the trailer dedicated to this: